Interest in old languages Everyday life and customs

Have you any interest in the language that precedes your mother tongue ?
Old English, old german, old french, Latin, ancien greek, etc...
Do you make some efforts to find the origins/the roots of some modern word ?
Would you buy a former language dictionary ?

Yes, figuring out the origin of the words is very interesting. True, in modern Russian there are many words from Greek and Latin. Finding out the origin of native Slavic words can be quite difficult

I speak Icelandic (which hasn't changed much in over 700 years) and it's interesting to see the connections between that language and Latin (and a lot of the words are the same, they didnt change the way they did in a lot of other European languages) Danish, Swedish, and German, thought sometimes the connections are convoluted and not always apparent.

I studied both Latin and Ancient Greek at uni~ it was a lovely time. And it was so fascinating and fun to rediscover words in my native language through the prism of either. You'd be surprised how much lives on even though people like to say these are 'dead languages.' But it doesn't really stop at languages; there's a wealth of contemporary beliefs, motifs and traditions that date back to these ancient civilizations. (Also, kudos for the cool conversation starter!)

Salvete Amici !
Ego Verenius sum et Linguam Latinam re-studeo.
Mii Linguam Latinam veta est, istam loqui non possum.

I was not expecting to see so many people interesting in the ancient languages !
Of course Latin (and Ancient Greek) have a tremendous part in many current languages, and for this, have a certain beauty
But, I also find very interesting how former English looks or may heard like German !
Here is an example:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kr2LRpx4Uyk

PS: I also agree that Latin should be the First Language in the World !